ACES-03 Flight Info


LAUNCH TIME: May 24, 2005 8:11 am CDT (13:11 UTC)
LAUNCH LOCATION: Columbia Scientific Balloon Facility, Palestine, Texas (31.78317 deg N, 95.72333 deg W)
BURST TIME:  May 24, 2005 10:18 a.m. CDT (15:18 UTC)
BURST LOCATION:31.5438 deg N, 95.7712 deg W
BURST ALTITUDE:100,131 feet
TOUCHDOWN TIME:May 24, 2005 10:48 a.m. CDR (15:48 UTC)
TOUCHDOWN LOCATION:31.4722 deg W, 95.7528 deg N

ACES-03 Frequencies:


Live online tracking of the flight was available


Flight Systems:

Balloon Manufacturer Kaymount
Balloon Type latex
Balloon Size 2000 gram
Nozzle Lift 13 lbs  
Free Lift % 4 lbs 9 oz
Ascent Rate 900 - 1000 fpm (< 50,000 ft) 700 fpm (> 50,000 ft)
Descent Rate 1600 - 4000 fpm (< 50,000 ft)
Peak Altitude 100,131 feet
Launch Conditions High altitude haze to partly cloudy


Payload Configuration:

Parachute: Skyangle 60" - 331 grams
Location Beacon: Modulated FM Morse Code beacon every 45 seconds, Radio Shack HTX-400 transceiver transmitting at 445.950 MHz at about 300 mW, Flexible half wave J-pole antenna, PIC 16F84A microcontroller and DTMF command decoder - 400 grams
Primary Beacon: Kenwood TH-D7 transceiver transmitting at 144.340 MHz at about 4 W, Sending ARPS packet data on a 30 second interval, Call sign KD5ZUP-11, Garmin GPS-25LVS, Passive conformal patch antenna for GPS - 710 grams
Antenna: Half wave flexible J-Pole (weight included in beacon)
Experiment A: HUSP (Team Parro - LaTech) - UV, humidity - 486 gm
Experiment B: SOE (Team UNO) - UV - 469 gm
Experiment C: EXSCELLE (Team SU) - Solar Cell Testing - 595 gm
Secondary Beacon: Kenwood TH-D7 transceiver transmitting at 144.340 MHz at about 4 W, Sending ARPS packet data on a 60 second interval, Call sign W5YW-11, Garmin GPS-25LVS, Passive conformal patch antenna for GPS - 710 grams
Antenna: Half wave flexible J-Pole
Structure: Flight train string, spreader bar, payload clips - 107 grams
   
  Total weight of payload string is 8 lbs, 7 oz