ACES-02 Flight Info


LAUNCH TIME: May 24, 2005 7:33 am CDT (12:33 UTC)
LAUNCH LOCATION: Columbia Scientific Balloon Facility, Palestine, Texas (31.78317 deg N, 95.72333 deg W)
BURST TIME:  May 24, 2005 9:12 CDT (14:12 UTC)
BURST LOCATION: 31.6023 deg N, 95.7330 deg W
BURST ALTITUDE: 108,681 feet
TOUCHDOWN TIME: May 24, 2005 9:41 CDT (14:41 UTC)
TOUCHDOWN LOCATION: 31.5145 deg N, 95.7243 deg W

ACES-02 Frequencies:


Live online tracking of the flight was available


Flight Systems:

Balloon Manufacturer Kaymount
Balloon Type latex
Balloon Size 3000 gram
Nozzle Lift 13 lbs 2 oz  
Free Lift % 5 lbs
Ascent Rate 1100 - 1500 fpm (< 50,000 ft)
~1000 fpm (> 50,000 ft)
Descent Rate 2400 - 3000 fpm (< 50,000 feet)
Peak Altitude 108,681 ft.
Launch Conditions High altitude haze to partly cloudy


Payload Configuration:

Parachute: Skyangle 60" - 331 grams
Location Beacon: Modulated FM Morse Code beacon every 45 seconds, Radio Shack HTX-400 transceiver transmitting at 445.975 MHz at about 300 mW, Flexible half wave J-pole antenna, PIC 16F84A microcontroller and DTMF command decoder, Blink-2 digital camera (640 x 480 pixels) - 480 grams
Primary Beacon: Kenwood TH-D7 transceiver transmitting at 144.340 MHz at about 4 W, Sending ARPS packet data on a 30 second interval, Call sign K5LSU-11, Garmin GPS-25LVS, Passive conformal patch antenna for GPS - 710 grams
Antenna: Half wave flexible J-Pole (weight included in beacon)
Experiment A: CRE (Team CajunSat - ULL) - Cosmic Rays - 461 gm
Experiment B: MAGGEX (Team LSU) - Magnetic field - 432 gm
Experiment C: ATTIDET (Team A-ACES) - Accelerometer - 455 gm
Secondary Beacon: Kenwood TH-D7 transceiver transmitting at 144.340 MHz at about 4 W, Sending ARPS packet data on a 60 second interval, Call sign W5GIX-11, Garmin GPS-25LVS, Passive conformal patch antenna for GPS - 710 grams
Antenna: Half wave flexible J-Pole
Structure: Flight train string, spreader bar, payload clips - 107 grams
   
  Total weight of payload string is 8 lbs, 2 oz