ACES-01 Flight Info


LAUNCH TIME: May 21, 2003 07:20 CDT (12:20 UTC)
LAUNCH LOCATION: Columbia Scientific Balloon Facility, Palestine, Texas (31.78317 deg N, 95.72333 deg W)
BURST TIME:  May 21, 2003 09:09 CDT (14:09 UTC)
BURST LOCATION: 31.5525 deg N, 95.0445 deg W
BURST ALTITUDE: 98,179 feet (29,925 m)
TOUCHDOWN TIME: May 21, 2003 09:44 CDT (14:44 UTC)
TOUCHDOWN LOCATION: 31.47067 deg N, 94.78467 deg W

ACES-XX Frequencies:


Live online tracking of the flight was available


Flight Systems:

Balloon Manufacturer Kaymount
Balloon Type latex
Balloon Size 2000 gram
Nozzle Lift ~17.6 pounds (estimate)
Free Lift % ~5.6 pounds (estimate)
Ascent Rate 1000 fpm (target)
Descent Rate 1200 fpm (estimate)
Peak Altitude 105,000 ft. (target)
Launch Conditions TBD


Payload Configuration:

Parachute: Skyangle 60" - 372 grams
Cutdown Apparatus: Nichrome heating element to melt nylon cord attaching top of parachute to balloon.  Controlled by ground command through location beacon transceiver.  Contains own batteries and battery heater - 142 grams
Location Beacon: Chirper (434 MHz) - 85 grams
Primary Beacon: Kenwood THD-7A(G), Garmin GPS-25 (144.340 MHz) - 860 grams
Antenna: Half wave flexible J-Pole - 80 grams
Experiment A: TIC Infrared experiment - 441 grams
Experiment B: StuMURD Ultraviolet experiment - 496 grams
Experiment C: FRED Cosmic Ray experiment - 680 grams
Experiment D: TBD
Secondary Beacon: Yaesu VX5-R, MIM, Garmin GPS-25 (445.975 MHz) - 833 grams
Antenna: Inverted Ground Plane
Radar Reflector: Approximate weight was 2 pounds
   
   
  Total weight of payload string is < 11.8 pounds